- 1 Immortal
- 2 Eternal
- 3 Reborn
- 4 Warden
- 5 Patchwork Person
- 6 Purified
- 7 All
Prerequisite: Immortal, having lived 75+ years OR having been killed at least once
Effect: Becoming immortal, and living as an immortal, can make you jaded. With this merit, that apathy can be a boon to your character. Maybe you've been around the block a few times, or maybe you know what it's like to have your head cut off or be tossed in a woodchipper. Either way, you're hard to impress, and hard to sway. You gain a +2 to resist mental or emotional manipulation both mundane and supernatural. This does stack with similar merits like Indomitable.
Cost: ••, ••••, or •••••
Prerequisite: Eternal, Wits 3, Occult 3
Effect: Your connection to your own anchor, and your perceptiveness, is such that you can recognize similar items on sight. Now, when using the True Worth ability (which requires physical contact), you can glean supernatural information from appropriate items. At 2 dots, you can recognize fetishes, mementos, tokens, relics, atlantean artifacts, azothic objects, and other similarly enchanted or mystical items as being mystically imbued, though you only know they are enchanted and not what they might do. At 4 dots you can recognize if an object is an anchor for another Eternal, ghost, or even spirit fetters, and you know the powers imparted by tokens, fetishes, relics, or other mystical items recognized in this way. This does not mean you can identify their nature or significance, you likely won't be able to determine what makes a fetish or an atlantean artifact different, but you will know their mechanical benefits.
Use of this power does not suddenly mean you understand the inner workings of every other template in such a way. Furthermore, while this ability does allow you to determine the mystical powers of a token or even hedgespun item, it does not allow you to pierce the mask. You may know that the shovel over there can cut clean through an engine block, but you'll still see a shovel, not the Thorn-Wreathed War Axe of Ogre-Kings in all its glittery glory. Likewise, knowing that a patchy eno hammock in the woods is an anchor for a ghost doesn't mean you know very much about ghosts necessarily - you might not know what they are at all. At 5 dots you can activate the True Worth ability without physically touching an item, and can levy it against any item within (3 x Wits) yards, if you can see it - meaning hidden or obscured items are not subject to this roll; you have to be able to detect the item.
Home Field Advantage
Effect: Your anchor bolsters you while in its proximity, so that you can defend it. While within Stamina x 5 yards of your anchor, you gain a +2 natural armor which stacks, and a +1 on any physical rolls so that you might properly protect your most precious possession from harm.
Prerequisite: Reborn, Intelligence 3, Wits 3, Resolve 3
Effect: In one of your past lives you were a brilliant and innovative thinker, so much so that you find it easy to reconnect with those memories and channel them. By spending a willpower, you can make an extended resolve+composure roll, with a target number of 5, failure on a roll before reaching 5 successes means the attempt has failed and cannot be retried for the scene. With success, you channel your Academic Legacy, and for the rest of scene gain a +3 on any research rolls, and a +2 on any academics, science, politics, medicine, or occult rolls. On a dramatic failure, you take a point of bashing damage from the mental backlash.
Drawback: Mantling such a legacy isn't all kittens and yarn. While channeling your Academic Legacy, you take a -2 penalty to all physical and social actions. Philosophers of this caliber aren't known for their physical prowess or manners.
Prerequisite: Reborn, Presence 3, Manipulation 3, Composure 3
Effect: In one of your past lives you were quite the suave schmoozer, so much so that you find it easy to reconnect with those memories and channel them. By spending a willpower, you can make an extended resolve+composure roll, with a target number of 5, failure on a roll before reaching 5 successes means the attempt has failed and cannot be retried for the scene. With success, you channel your Socialite Legacy, and for the rest of scene gain a +2 on any socialize, persuasion, empathy, expression, or subterfuge rolls, and others cannot spend a willpower on social rolls made against you. On a dramatic failure, you take a point of bashing damage from the mental backlash.
Drawback: Mantling such a legacy isn't all kittens and yarn. While channeling your Socialite Legacy, you take a -2 penalty to all mental and physical actions. Casanovas of this caliber aren't known for their education or physical prowess.
Prerequisite: Reborn, Strength 3, Dexterity 3, Stamina 3
Effect: In one of your past lives you were a potent and formidable warrior, so much so that you find it easy to reconnect with those memories and channel them. By spending a willpower, you can make an extended resolve+composure roll, with a target number of 5, failure on a roll before reaching 5 successes means the attempt has failed and cannot be retried for the scene. With success, you channel your Warrior Legacy, and for the rest of scene gain a +2 defense, +1 initiative, and a +2 on any brawl, weaponry, or firearms rolls. On a dramatic failure, you take a point of bashing damage from the mental backlash.
Drawback: Mantling such a legacy isn't all kittens and yarn. While channeling your Warrior Legacy, you take a -2 penalty to all mental and social actions. Fighters of this caliber aren't known for their education or manners.
Cost: • to •••
Effect: You and your territory have a very keen understanding of one another, and you've trained and honed your connection to it into a weapon of its own. Each dot is added to your Presence for the purpose of using the Natural Affinity advantage, but nothing else. You're just very good at manipulating your territory to hamper foes and help yourself.
Effect: Your territory invests in you more than the usual amount of physical power, trusting you to protect it and its inhabitants from harm with your life. With this merit, you gain a +2 to your defense within your territory, and all-out attacks impart an extra +1 bonus.
This Land Is Mine
Cost: • to •••
Prerequisite: Warden, Intimidate 2
Effect: Your connection to your territory is somehow palpable. People instinctively understand that they're trespassing when you tell them, on some level - even if you're in the living room of the house they paid for. This makes you a bit frightening to deal with and that is its own advantage. Each dot is a +1 on rolls made to intimidate people within your territory. This is your land, after all, they're just camping out on it.
Effect: Your clockwork heart is such that electricity doesn't bug you like it does normal humans. With this merit, electricity does not harm you, but will still stun you for a number of turns equal to 6 - stamina. Instead, it just arcs through your body painfully. This lends credence to certain rumors amongst those in the know that there is some relation between the Patchwork process and the Created.
Prerequisite: Patchwork, Resources 5
Effect: Among those fortunate enough to have their life sustained by the so-called patchwork process, transplants are rather routine, but since the dawn of the twenty first century tremendous strides have been made with cybernetics. This merit represents your character becoming a willing test subject for a top of the line biotechnological augmentation. It's as seamlessly hidden and realistic as the rest of a Patchwork person, but a lot less subtle when put into use. By spending a willpower and succeeding on a resolve+composure check, you can gain a +2 bonus to a physical attribute for a scene, which does affect the relevant advantages like speed and initiative, depending on the attribute. The attribute which gains the bonus is chosen at the time of purchase, as with a language type merit or a contact type, and the merit can be purchased up to three times, once for each physical attribute. Failure on the roll incurs a penalty of -2 to all physical actions for the scene as the state of the art, and maybe too new, cybernetic upgrade malfunctions.
Drawback: At the end of the scene, two lethal wounds are incurred immediately as the body can no longer support the augmentation. Maybe after a few dozen more updates these bugs will be worked out. This damage can kill the character, and is especially risky if the Upgrade in question is for stamina - as you will also lose the two temporary health boxes gained upon activation.
Prerequisite: Summoning 3
You may craft a fetish as per the Werewolf rules in Lore of the Forsaken, pg. 137. The rank of the fetish to be created must bind a spirit of equivalent rank, except for rank 5 fetishes, which require a powerful rank 4 spirit. This undertaking can be dangerous, requires a PrP for fetishes over Rank 3, requires a method for binding or having the spirit remain present and you're unlikely to make many friends in the spirit world depending upon how you approach this. See the Fetish Clarifications page for some useful information when creating fetishes.
Cost: 1 Essence per level of the fetish to be created
Dice Pool: Power + Other modifiers from the Rituals and Fetish Rite apply. See WtF p147 and p162 respectively. You get a number of rolls equal to your dice pool, including all modifiers, +4. Patient does not apply to this roll.
Action: Extended (15 successes + 10 successes per level of the fetish to be created; each roll represents one minute)
Dramatic Failure: All accumulated successes are lost; the vessel is ruined, and the spirit is freed from its binding.
Failure: No successes are added.
Success: Successes are added, and when the required number is accumulated, the fetish is created.
Exceptional Success: No additional effect beyond the several successes gained.
Cost: •• to ••••
Prerequisite: Purified, Chi 3
Effect: You are a caster of siddhi, and you've developed a ritual nexus where these strange spirit powers are more potent. This merit represents a location where you can cast siddhi with more potent results. At 2 dots, you recieve a +1 to cast Siddhi at the altar, at 3 dots, +2, and at 4 dots, +3. This altar is a fixed location however, and it can be in the shadow or the mortal world, but cannot be moved. Certain siddhi then, will benefit more from this altar than others, but it's surely a useful thing to have.
Cost: • to •••••
Prerequisite: Must be a minimum of 200 years old to purchase the first dot and cannot purchase dots that makes the book older than they are since they wrote it.
Effect: Each dot purchased counts as 200 years and the skills that can take 9/agains at one time are limited to the dots purchased. When researching your diary use the Intelligence+Academics roll. The number of successes on that roll is how many days your 9/again applied to researched skill will last. Each dot will also require one written paragraph in a +note that covers what the types of things the character may have written in the diary during that specific time era.