Geist/House Rules

From Fallcoast
Jump to: navigation, search
Geist House Rules and Clarifications

Death & Return


  • In order to make a bargain with a geist, a body must be intact enough that reanimation is viable. If vital organs are missing or there is an extreme loss of body mass, no bargain is possible.
  • Becomings will not be honored in the event a body is irreparably damaged, even if one has been previously agreed.


  • Once the bargain is made, a Sin Eater can return from any manner of death, including ones that would normally make a becoming impossible.
  • The Geist will not reanimate their Sin-Eater in an unfeasible place. For example, if a Sin Eater was killed by being tossed into a volcano, they would not be reanimated in a crater full of lava.
  • Rules for Death and Ressurrection are as noted in the book.

Sin Eaters and Other Splats

Morbid Reality and Deathly Visions interact with other splats in a variety of ways. A summary of these is below.
  • Seeing a Changelings true age is complicated. Please refer to Changeling House Rules for more information.
  • It is possible to see through a Changeling's mask using the Phantasmal Oracle.
  • Fetches with the Normalcy Echo appear normal to Sin Eaters. The age of those without reflects the age of the fetch (ie. since it was created).



  • Sin-Eaters can see the true ages of Possessed.


  • Sin-Eaters can tell at a glance that a Promethean is a reanimated corpse.
  • Sin-Eaters can see a Promethean's true age at a glance.


  • Sin-Eaters can tell at a glance that a vampire is a reanimated corpse.
  • Sin-Eaters can see a Vampire's true age at a glance.
  • Sin-Eater blood tastes normal and is nourishing to Vampires. They gain the ability to see ghosts for the scene.

Ghostly Tutelage

xxxxxFallcoast's Geist sphere uses the rules from Book of the Dead, p. 112 involving having a ghostly mentor teach you a level of a Trait. This isn't really a rule; it's more of a reminder and a clarification for the MU* environment. This may not be done in chargen, and is available only through PrP or other plot-run scene. This is only for Sin-Eater characters. If you want to do this and you are not a Sin-Eater, you must request permission from your sphere staff. You cannot purchase a ghost mentor for the sake of doing this consistently. Each time you would like to take advantage of the Tutelage of the Dead rules regarding XP decrease for training, you must have a PrP. The PrP doesn't need to be extravagant or require an incredible amount of danger (though going into the Underworld is generally always dangerous). It simply needs to be one scene, previously approved by staff, with the Trait clearly indicated in the PrP request. Otherwise all other rules apply: you can subtract one XP multiplier from a Trait. Traits are Attributes, Skills, Merits, and flat-cost items such as Skill Specialties or Willpower (in which case you subtract one XP from the cost). They are not Manifestations, Keys, or any other supernatural power. You cannot get a decreased cost for a Memento using Tutelage of the Dead rules. This is strictly for mundane information that you are taught. In case it needs to be said, this also cannot be done for any sort of lair merit, as per common sense (your Haunt can't become more fluid because you talked to a ghost in the Underworld about fluidity).

xxxxxGhostly tutors are only in the Underworld. The reason a ghost is able to provide this sort of bonus is not due to them being ghosts, but due to the information they may have had in life that would give them an edge, thus requiring a very old ghost whose anchors have long since worn away by time or man-made destruction. As such, any PrP requests regarding ghost mentors/tutors in Twilight outside of the Underworld will be denied. The location in the Underworld does not particularly matter: the ghost may be in the Autocthonous Depths, or possibly in a Dominion six levels deep. Either way, it must be in the Underworld. You may do this as many times as you wish, so long as you have someone to run the plot for you. You can only raise a Trait by one level each time you do this (for example, you couldn't go from Strength 1 to 3 using this; you would first have to go to Strength 2, then Strength 3 with separate scenes). If you choose a Trait that's only available at a higher dot rating (such as Gunslinger from WoD Core, which is a 3-dot merit), then you purchase it at one multiplier less with graduated costs (so Gunslinger would become 1 + 2 + 3 = 6 XP instead of 2 + 4 + 6 = 12 XP).

xxxxxFor example, if you get into a PrP in order to increase your Strength by seeking out the ghost of a famous soldier from Greece, after you run through the plot, you may put in for the Strength increase at 4 x New Rating instead of 5 x New Rating (so Strength 3 > 4 would be 16 XP instead of 20 XP).

xxxxxOnce again, this is only for Sin-Eater characters. Sin-Eaters are naturally predisposed toward learning from, and dealing with, the dead. Also, Sin-Eaters have an edge on just about anyone else in that they can resolve, anchor, fetter, or destroy a ghost with very little issue by comparison to just about anyone else. A ghost would have to have a damned good reason to teach a non-Sin-Eater something, and would require that character's sphere staff's permission to use these rules. Frankly: this is a Geist rule. Not a Fallcoast rule.

'Ghost' Merits/Ceremonies/Rites/etc. & the Underworld

xxxxxNormally as per Book of the Dead, ghosts who still have Anchors can't enter the Underworld. However, as a generalized HR in Fallcoast, ghosts whose anchors are someone specific (such as with the Ghost Ally merit, the Unliving Anchor merit, or the Ghostly Guardian ceremony) are able to enter the Underworld if the person or thing to which they're Anchored goes into the Underworld as well.

xxxxxHowever, what you can't do is send a ghostly ally gained through merit or some power that still has Anchors topside into the Underworld without you.

Synergy Sins


xxxxxThis is not a house rule, this is a reminder: creating zombies is a Synergy 8 sin.


xxxxxMurder is not a discord trigger in and of itself. Mass murder, murder involving torture, rape, etc., and murder for the purposes of healing, however, are discord triggers. The breaking point of how much murder constitutes mass murder is at the sole discretion of staff.


xxxxxAll player-created Krewes must establish a channel with a mythology that works within their Ethos (including a creation myth, the metaphysics that tie into the myth, aspects of the mythology and symbolism behind it). Each Krewe will be noted with the Ban, Duty and Destiny of their Ethos.

xxxxxWhen participating in the Krewe-Binding ceremony, the members within the ceremony are considered the Krewe's founders. Krewes can be created and Founders can be set before play. We leave open the possibility that some Krewes in the area will be Tier One, and the rules for Tier One benefits apply as written. We begin play with an established Tier 2 Krewe in the local area, the Society of Crows, with a handful of sub-factions and NPCs associated with this Krewe. These NPCs may be used by those who join the Society of Crows as mentors, and it is our eventual goal to hand over leadership of the larger Krewe and its groups in time, though it will also survive or fall through PC action.

xxxxxKrewe Experience: Krewe Experience is not used on the Fallcoast. Instead, all Krewe founders are given a one time bonus of 10xp and subsequent members are given 5xp upon joining.

xxxxxKrewe Fate: If a Sin-Eater invests in the Krewe Fate pooled Merit for their Krewe, they may make use of Krewe Fate to boost a roll on a 2 dice for 1 Merit dot scale. As per the rules listed on page 184 of Geist: the Sin-Eaters, dice may be placed under conditions. Dice return to the pool in the next scene. So, if a Krewe has 4 dots of Krewe Fate and a Krewe Founder wishes to boost his next roll by 3 dice, for the remainder of the scene, the Krewe will have 5 additional dice. Krewe channels will be created for the purpose of allowing founders to confer with one another about spending Krewe Fate dice; this happens regardless of whether the Krewe Founder is with the others. If one Krewe Founder is gambling on a street corner and boosts his luck while the other two Krewe Founders are fighting a massive ghost, any dice used during this time will take from the pool. Obviously, Krewes are not telepathic. The Twilight Network is not instantaneous. You may make bad decisions that affect the rest of your Krewe.

xxxxxDeathsoul Initiation: You may use the Manifestation and Key that you do not have of a Founder (or another Founder, if you are one) once per scene. You must purchase this merit in order for the same Key and Manifestation. You must spend an additional point of Plasm to use the Initiation. You may purchase this merit multiple times for additional Manifestations. The Key you select at first will not change; if you select the Cold-Wind Key and the Rage Manifestation, you may purchase Deathsoul Initiation a second time for the Shroud Manifestation, but you will only be able to use it with the Cold-Wind Key.

xxxxxKrewe Status: There is a specific Merit called Krewe Status outside of the usual status Merits on Fallcoast. Krewe Status is handled in the following ways:

  • Founders automatically receive Krewe Status 3.
  • Members to a new Krewe start with Krewe Status 1.
  • Krewe Status is raised like any other status; all members of the Krewe must vote to increase a member's status.
  • Likewise, Krewe Status may be lowered if someone brings forward a +job or reason why a person's status should be lowered.
  • Your Krewe Status functions as per the book for Pooled Merits (G:tSE, p. 185).
  • If your Krewe grows to a new level (Tier 1 to Tier 2) all current members and founders of the Krewe in good standing receive a free dot of Krewe Status as per the rules as written.
  • You may elect to allow other people to gain Krewe Status as allies of your Krewe. This must be voted on by all members of the Krewe and reach a unanimous vote. In this fashion, the status of the member voting does not matter.
  • Pooled Merits can only be Merits that have some immediate temporal benefit. For example, the following Merits would be allowed to be pooled: Resources, Allies, Contacts, Mentor, or Staff.
  • Pooled Merits must be purchased by members of the Krewe with XP with a description listed as 'Pooled Krewe Merit.' For example: +xpreq merit/Resources:Pooled Krewe Merit to 2.
  • If a member/founder leaves a Krewe, all of their Pooled Merits are taken with them. For example, Johnny Beans, Barista of Death, purchases Resources 2 for the Krewe. He decides that his Krewe doesn't have much to do with his coffee-focused interests and leaves. The Krewe is now down 2 dots of Resources in their Pooled Merits.
  • You receive the benefits of your Pooled Merits equal to half your Krewe Status rounded down (minimum 1).
  • If you make use of your Krewe's Pooled Resources, the dots used count for monthly Resources spending. This can be cause for someone to be lowered in Status if they consistently use the Krewe's Resources without allowing others to use them.
  • Likewise, a Krewe's Contacts, Allies, and other social merits are elected on a monthly basis and may not be changed for the duration of that month. For example, Freddy Merlot has Krewe Status 3, which gives him the ability to use one of his Krewe's Contacts. His Krewe has the following Contacts pooled: Sommeliers, Fallcoast Fire Department, and Local Gang Members. He decides he's looking for a new type of wine and decides to use his Krewe's sommelier Contacts. He may not use any other type of Pooled Contact for the rest of the month, similar to expending Resources.
  • You cannot buy the Luxury merit as a Pooled Merit. No exceptions.

xxxxxKrewe Pooled Merits are different than +lair merits. Your Krewe may have as many +lairs as it wants. However, your Pooled Merits are attached directly to your Krewe, not a specific Haunt or Cenote where your Krewe congregates. As Krewe Status and the Pooled Merit system is a system created specifically for Geist, whereas the +lair/Lairs system was created specifically for Fallcoast, the rules on Krewe Pooled Merits supersede the Lair system. That being said, you may purchase Haunt Fluidity/Utility/Residue as many times as you want for as many places as you want, with each member of the Krewe benefiting from these places as normal. Haunt merits are not considered Pooled Merits for the purpose of Krewe Status.

xxxxxAll Krewe members automatically have the Ethos Commitment Benefit.

xxxxxBeyond the above rules, all rules regarding Pooled Merits are as listed on Geist: The Sin-Eaters, p. 186.

xxxxxHonorary Members: Non-Bound can be given Krewe Status for a Krewe if they've done enough good work to assist the Krewe. This requires a majority of the Krewe members to vote on their gaining status in the Krewe (based on the Krewe Status of the member voting). They do not receive any benefits from being an honorary member of the Krewe (no usage of Pooled Merits, no ability to acquire any Krewe merits). They also are not able to vote on Krewe matters. They are still outsiders, but considered trusted. Any supernatural creature or mortal may attempt to gain honorary status. This cannot raise above Krewe Status 1.

xxxxxLeaving a Krewe: Any non-founder may leave a Krewe as he so chooses. He loses all Temporal benefits. He may keep Supernatural Benefits until he joins a new Krewe. At that point, they can be carried over into the next krewe or evenly traded for another. Any founder that chooses to leave a krewe may without a new krewe being considered a "branch" of his old one. Founders lose all benefits and may have purchased benefits refunded at half cost, rounded down. They can go on to found a new krewe if desired. When leaving a krewe, please put in a +request to staff.
xxxxxLastly, your Geist reverts to its old self, becoming unbound from the Krewe.


Ceremonies Merit

  • The Ceremonies Merit is used ONLY to buy ceremonies in character generation. Approved characters should buy ceremonies individually using +xpreq.
  • Note it is still possible to buy individual ceremonies in character generation without the use of the Ceremonies Merit.

Ceremony Costs

  • Learning a Ceremony has a basic cost of Dots x 3.
  • Learning a Ceremony from an NPC Mentor costs Dots x 2.
  • Learning a Ceremony from another PC costs Dots x 2 and there is an additional 1xp discount from the final cost of the ceremony.

Learning from a Mentor

  • The Mentor must be one that is listed on your sheet or that you have access to through being a member of a Krewe. One of the mentor's three slots (GMC p.167) must be Ceremonies.
  • You can learn ceremonies at a reduced cost from your Mentor a number of times a month equal to your dots in the Mentor Merit.

Customised Ceremonies

  • We do use the sidebar rule listed in Geist: The Sin-Eaters, p. 151.
  • A customised Ceremony costs one more dot than it would otherwise do.
  • In order to learn a customised ceremony, you must set a note on yourself explaining how you perform the ceremony, which will be approved and locked along with the spend.
  • A Customised Ceremony can not be significantly easier to perform than the uncustomised version.
  • As you are devising the ceremony yourself, it cannot be taught to you by a mentor or another PC for a reduced cost.
  • If a PC teaches you a ceremony for which they know a customised version, you may learn the customised version at the reduced cost, though it will still cost one dot more than normal.
  • A PC can not teach an uncustomised version of a ceremony for which they know a customised version.

Memento Creation

  • PC-Created Fetters are half-cost (6 xp). Half-cost is half-cost, no further discounting of the cost is allowed. Also, see Mementos on the right column of this page for more information.
  • PC-Created Charms are half-cost (1 xp). No, there is no way to make them free. This is to off-set the prior rule in place that indicated that the Dedicate Charm Ceremony was HR'd to be a 1-dot Ceremony rather than rules-as-written (3 dots).
  • You can create a Fetter or Charm for another PC. Instead of paying the XP costs, the PC receiving the Fetter pays the XP cost. For example, Johnny Beans wants to craft a Fetter for Frankie Merlot. Since the Fetter will be marked on Frankie Merlot's sheet and +notes, he pays the cost for it, not Herr Beans.
  • When you create a Fetter, you can assume you find a ghost that matches the numen you want in the Fetter. Finding and understanding the abilities and natures of ghosts are intrinsic to being a Sin-Eater. It isn't difficult to find a ghost with Telekinesis for your Fetter because of your character's experience with ghosts.
  • It otherwise functions exactly as written in the book; the mechanics are unchanged.
  • You can 'create' a Deathmask by seeking out and killing a Geist. Since you went through the trouble of killing it, dealing with your Degeneration, etc., you can buy the Deathmask at 1/2 cost this way (instead of requiring PrPs to do it, see below). However, keep in mind that this will be monitored and PRPs specifically set to kill a Geist to get a Deathmask will generally be denied.

Pacts and Pledges

  • Any bonuses from Pacts, or any Pledges held during the mortal life are lost at the moment of Death. When Becoming into the Geist sphere you will lose any existing Changeling Pledges or Demonic Pacts you had previously.
  • You can make new Pledges after your Becoming.
  • You may no longer make Demonic Pacts after your Becoming.
  • You are still subject to the demands of a Pact you struck with a Demon as a human even after your Becoming until the time lapses, even though you are no longer benefiting from it. Sucks to be you, you Demon-dealin' evil person!

Perceiving the Geist

  • Unfettered Geists can be seen by anyone who can look into Twilight, as that is where they reside.
  • Bound Geists cannot be seen by anyone save for their Sin-Eater, unless the Sin-Eater decides to make the Geist visible to other Sin-Eaters. Non-Sin-Eaters cannot see the Geist even then. Mages with Mage Sight could read a Sin-Eater's aura and go "Oh, you're Bound," (if they even know what that is enough to name it) but they wouldn't see the Geist; using Soul Marks might get the reaction, "Damn, that's some weird soul," but wouldn't see the Geist. Same for similar abilities in other spheres.
  • When Sin-Eaters see another Bound's Geist, they see the Geist's movements and motions and expressions (if it has them); they do not just see a static image superimposed over the Sin-Eater.
  • If a Sin-Eater has died, her Geist becomes visible to anyone who can look into Twilight until the Sin-Eater's body begins to reconstitute. This is a short time-frame that takes about ten rounds.


High Psyche

xxxxxBuying Psyche higher than 5 (6+) requires a good justification which does not grant a discount, since Fallcoast does not offer justification discounts. You can run a PrP into the Underworld to justify it to make up the XP spent in purchasing Psyche higher than 5.



xxxxxPlasm spent to bulwark damage does not affect per-turn plasm expenditure limits.

Regaining Plasm

xxxxxWhile getting up close and personal with your Threshold, the amount of Plasm you gain is the amount of damage you take. This damage must at least be Lethal.
xxxxxWhen regaining Plasm through the emotions of others witnessing a death related to your Threshold, you gain an amount of Plasm equal to a Wits + Empathy roll. The person in question must die, however. You may orchestrate this, but do not have to.
xxxxxAll cemeteries in Fallcoast are considered to be Cenotes with Fluidity 2 and Residue 3.
xxxxxLocal landmarks regarding the witch trials and other scenes of slaughter or death (justified or not) are considered Cenotes with a Fluidity of 2 and Residue of 2.

Magic & Geists

  • Mages may not affect a Sin-Eater's Geist, that is, a Bound Geist. A mage may tell that a Sin-Eater is a Sin-Eater via normal scrutiny means, however. It may be particularly easier if one is using Grim Sight. The reason for this is that a Geist is to a Sin-Eater what the 'spirit' is to werewolf. Sin-Eaters are, effectively, part ghosts. Since a Spirit Mage cannot affect the spirit part of a werewolf, a Death Mage cannot affect the ghost part of a sin-eater.
  • No amount of Death & Spirit will allow a Mage to undone the binding between the Sin-Eater and Geist.
  • Affecting Unbound Geists with magic requires Death effects as would affect a ghost, however, due to the Geist's changed nature and the fact that it is no longer purely a ghost, it requires equivalent levels of Spirit and Prime to the required level of Death.
  • The Industrial Key can't affect any Spirit-based or Twilight-based item that a Mage creates and makes manifest. This means that if a Mage conjures a sword, regardless of the Arcana involved, the Industrial Key doesn't work against it (see below for further information on this House Rule). However, if a Mage uses Space to reach through and grab an item constructed in the physical world, this is not consider an 'item that a Mage makes manifest,' since it's a physical item that was built in the real world.

Vampires and Sin-Eaters

  • If a Sin-Eater with Stillness Marionette is attempting to wrestle control of a Sangiovanni's zombies (or vice versa) they would both roll Int+Occult+Cattiveria vs the Manifestation pool, the highest successes win, ties go to the current controller.



xxxxxUnlocking: You may unlock multiple manifestations with the same key. However you may not use the same manifestation with different keys at the same time. For example you can have up the Passion Oracle and Passion Shroud. You cannot have up the Stigmata Shroud and Grave-Dirt Shroud at the same time.

xxxxxIndustrial: The Industrial powers only work with physical objects, not objects that are ephemeral but have somehow become tangible. The only exception to this is a Geist's Keystone, as it's an intrinsic part of the Geist and, in that same vein, the Sin-Eater herself. However, the Industrial Key would not work with a ghost's Twilight-based rifle, a machine or object that exists only in the Shadow, and so on. The same Anachrotech rules apply to Keystones as any other object.

xxxxxAnachrotech Modifiers The modifers have been adjusted as follows:
xxxxxxxxxx+3 The technology is more than 100 years old;
xxxxxxxxxx+2 The technology was invented before 1920;
xxxxxxxxxx+1 The technology was invented before 1940;
xxxxxxxxxx+0 The technology was invented before 1960;
xxxxxxxxxx–1 The technology was invented in the 1960s - 1970s;
xxxxxxxxxx–2 The technology was invented in the 1980s - 1990s;
xxxxxxxxxx–3 The technology was invented in the last 10 years.

xxxxxFor simplicity's sake, rather than invention date, we use the date at which the technology became mainstream or commonly available. So while the basic technology for cellphones was first pioneered in the 1960s and 1970s, they entered mainstream use in the 1980s. A -2 penalty would thus apply. The scene's ST or staffer is the final arbiter of the date of common use.


  • This Key was custom written by the Mors' Dirige Kharon's Lucerna krewe and may only be used with their permission. Ask Kilo for details.

xxxxxStigmata: The alternative payment options function for subsidiary powers just like for the unlocking, and they count against Plasm and Willpower expenditure limits.


  • Stygian Oracle allows understanding of mundane languages only. Any supernatural language, such as High Speech, First Tongue, Dragon's Tongue, Mourning Cant, etc are not applicable.
  • This Key requires a staff-approved PrP to obtain.
  • Stygian Marionette 5 allows for a character to possess two bodies at once, using his own mind and his Geist's mind in concert. This allows the character to use two Manifestations at once in the same turn (with the exception of unlocking a different version of Marionette, due to standard limitations; also, see below). After unlocking the first Manifestation in either body, there is a flat -2 penalty alongside any other penalties to unlocking any other Manifestations in the other body (Geist-controlled or the Sin-Eater's) due to the strain caused by controlling multiple bodies at once, and the effort it takes to sustain and unlock a Manifestation. Likewise, once a Manifestation is unlocked by one body or the other, the player cannot unlock a Manifestation with the same Key in the other controlled body, as Keys and Manifestations are shared between Sin-Eater and Geist. For example, if the Sin-Eater unlocks Tear-Stained Shroud in the controlled body, she cannot activate Tear-Stained Shroud in her own body. She can, however, activate any other version of Shroud she knows.
  • Unlocking the same Manifestation in both bodies with Stygian Marionette 5 (for example: unlocking Grave-Dirt Shroud in one, and Industrial Shroud in the other) raises the Manifestation activation penalty to -3 instead of -2.

The Boneyard

xxxxxThe trancelike state of the Boneyard allows minor movement without needing a roll to maintain control. Obviously you won't be able to break into a run, climb a tree, and so on, but you'll be able to move your hands or write, possibly even say a few words, but they'll come out disjointed and distracted. You can walk at a slow pace, but you're splitting your attention between trying to keep control over the Boneyard and trying to figure out where you're going, so you may look like you're staggering a little or outwardly seem drunk or inebriated.

xxxxxPassion Boneyard: This Manifestation is reflexively resisted with a Composure + Psyche roll (or appropriate power stat) instead of comparing the activation roll to the sum of Composure + Psyche.

xxxxxStygian Boneyard: At Boneyard 5, a character can close any Avernian Gates and seal them for as long as the power is active with the expenditure of one plasm and one Willpower point. If someone attempts to force a Gate open after it has been sealed within the Boneyard, they must roll Intelligence + Occult. They must exceed the number of activation successes in creating the Boneyard; this is an extended roll, with each roll taking one turn. The other aspects of Stygian Boneyard 5 work as usual; likewise, a character with a Synergy of 8+ must make Degeneration checks to close off Avernian Gates as normal.

General Rules

xxxxxIf a Sin-Eater creates a Boneyard with other Sin-Eaters in its radius, all Sin-Eaters in the area of effect when the Boneyard is activated know that a Boneyard has been created. Anyone not a Sin-Eater with a supernatural ability that allows them to check for supernatural abilities being used are able to make a reflexive check to see if they recognize that a power has been used. That being said, a character who enters a Boneyard after it has been created, assuming there is no activity going on within the Boneyard, is not able to tell that they've entered the Boneyard until they notice something out of the ordinary occurring (such as an Industrial Boneyard having its machinery moving on its own, or fires bursting up everywhere with no provocation). Even if a Sin-Eater is within its activation radius when a Boneyard is unlocked, they don't know what type of Boneyard is being used until any effects happen. Nonetheless, they can still attempt to wrest control of the Boneyard as per normal.

xxxxxThe exception to the above regarding Sin-Eaters knowing whether they've stepped into a Boneyard is if the Sin-Eater herself as the Boneyard power. A Sin-Eater with Boneyard 1 knows they've stepped into a Boneyard immediately (and may attempt to wrest control, as per the book). This isn't an HR, just a reminder.

The Caul

xxxxxPhantasmal Caul: At the first dot, the possible changes you can make are nearly infinite, but adapting your body at this level of power doesn't stand up to the rigors of combat, so this power cannot reliably be used to add to combat dice pools.

xxxxxPassion Caul 2:: Passion Caul 2 is meant to only be usable for mundane mental skill rolls, and cannot be used to give a manifestation the rote quality.

xxxxxPrimeval Caul: For Primeval Caull ••••, the animal's flesh has to be consumed. For most common breeds and species it's assumed characters have access to their meat. If you're looking to eat something exotic we'd like to see a justification especially if it's a recurring meal; if it's something nearly extinct or truly unique then a PrP may be required. Please ask if you're in doubt. As a rule of thumb, any animal under the Exotic section of Animal Retainer requires a good justification; some of them may require a PrP.
xxxxxOnly naturally occurring animals can be used to shape-shift using Primeval Caul ••••. Animals created by Life Magic, Changing Breeds in animal shape, or any other variation of a naturally occurring animal do not count.
xxxxxAs of Saturday March 1 2014, all animal shapes must be +noted and approved. [+note me/Animal Shapes=<text>]. You may not have more animals listed in this note than your current Psyche score. Note that staff is working on re-mechanizing this power to better represent transforming into animals (and finding a better way to track this).
xxxxxYou may adjust your Primeval Caul stats with Primeval Caul 4 after setting them initially by spending an additional point of Willpower and a point of plasm. For example, if you placed 3 successes into Dexterity, and needed to adjust them to Stamina, you could do this as a Reflexive action by spending a point of Willpower and plasm.

xxxxxCaul Visibility: Passion and Stillness Caul are the only two versions of this Manifestation that are not visible to non-Sin-Eaters (except, of course, for the shadow-powers of the Stillness Caul ••• and •••• (if you're seen). Grave-Dirt Caul is not visible until a Sin-Eater has Caul ••• and the external flesh becomes affected. In addition, Sin-Eaters shapeshifted into animals via the Primeval Caul don't look like anything other than the animal in question, and Phantasmal Caul • can be used for light cosmetic changes (but not gross changes without Becoming obvious).
xxxxxNote, these are effects seen by non-Sin-Eaters; other Bound can ALWAYS tell when someone has donned the Caul. All other Cauls are visible and obvious to non-Sin-Eaters.

The Marionette

xxxxxThe Elemental Marionettes: Instead of a permanent Willpower dot, these cost a dot of Willpower which is invested for the duration of the Marionette. When the homunculus ceases to be, the Willpower dot returns. All homunculi at level 5 must be noted. A Sin-Eater's death stains do not show on a homunculus. Without capturing it, studying it, and figuring it out against its will, there's no way to tell who made it.

xxxxxThe Phantasmal Marionette: The Marionette's ability to materialize and dematerialize is an instant action. At the end of the Marionette's duration, any damage sustained by the Marionette is taken by the Sin-Eater as bashing damage. Staff also has the right to deny any stat allocation that it deems unreasonable.

The stat attribution limits are per dot of Marionette, not total.

xxxxxThe Stigmata Marionette: The roll to establish a sympathetic connection to a ghost is Manipulation + Occult + Marionette - the ghost's Resistance.

xxxxxThe Stillness Marionette: When you spend a dot of Willpower to animate a zombie for the long-term, you can instead elect to spend 8 XP (thereby purchasing your Willpower dot back). The zombie lasts until destroyed, and otherwise has all of the base stats and potential stat raises based on your Marionette rating from the book (G:tSE, p. 137). Zombies can't be "upgraded" after they're created. This isn't a house rule, it's just a rules clarification and reminder.

xxxxxThe Industrial Marionette: If you are standing on an object that you're moving telekinetically with Industrial Marionette of Size 4 or lower, you lose your Defense to any attacks. However, you apply a penalty to your attacker's dice pool equal to your rating in Marionette, so long as you remain moving. If you leap off, are knocked off, or otherwise get off of the flying telekinetic object while moving, you must make a successful Dexterity + Athletics roll not to fall prone. All other penalties or bonuses apply in regards to Industrial Marionette while standing on an object you are moving using the Manifestation.

The Oracle

xxxxxThe Elemental Oracles: Any damage sustained prior to the activation of an Elemental Oracle is healed when the Manifestation ends. A Sin-Eater is immune to any damage from the same elemental source as the Key used sustained during the use of an Elemental Oracle. Any damage not from the same elemental source as the Key used sustained during the use of an Elemental Oracle is not healed when the Manifestation ends.
xxxxxYes, this means that if you take 6 boxes of damage with a normal health track and go into an Elemental Oracle, so long as you don't sustain damage while in your ephemeral state, you will be fully healed when you come back to your body.
xxxxxIn addition, the +3 bonus to dealing with ghosts who were buried/dispatched in the same way as that which was used to activate the Manifestation only applies if the Sin-Eater has at least Oracle •••.

xxxxxThe Phantasmal Oracle: Sin-Eaters using Phantasmal Oracle ••••• can roll Intelligence + Investigation + [Phantasmal Oracle Activation Successes] - 3, contested by a reflexive Wyrd + Resolve on the part of the Changeling. If the Changeling wins, the Sin-Eater continues seeing a human; but if the Sin-Eater wins, they pierce the Mask entirely, seeing the Changeling for what they are until the Manifestation ends.

xxxxxThe Stillness Oracle: Stillness Oracle ••• imposes penalties depending on how much of the body one has. If the majority of the body is present, there is no penalty, however:
xxxxxxxxxx -1 if missing the head;
xxxxxxxxxx -1 if missing three or more limbs;
xxxxxxxxxx -3 if just the head if available;
xxxxxxxxxx -3 if just the torso is available;
xxxxxxxxxx -4 if only limbs are available;
xxxxxxxxxx -5 if only a single limb is available.
xxxxxThese penalties do stack. Limbs, for the purposes of this power, are 'entire arm' or 'entire leg'. Just a hand does not count. Just a finger does not count. Blood and hair certainly don't count. Being able to work off of less material is more of a Ceremonial thing (e.g. the Final Vision Ceremony).

The Pit

xxxxxThis Manifestation requires a staff-approved PrP to obtain.

The Rage

xxxxxAny Rage manifestation/key combination which does aggravated damage does so at a cost of 2 Plasm per use/round.

xxxxxStillness: The roll for Stillness Rage is Strength + Stealth + Rage - Stamina. Stillness Rage • ignores Armor. Stillness Rage •••• should read that the Sin-Eater may spend 1 additional plasm to ignore the target's Stamina.

xxxxxManifested vs. Materialized: Unless otherwise specifically stated (such as with the Stigmata Rage), this Manifestation can only affect physical things, and thus cannot affect Manifested but non-Materialized ghosts. This also means that even while Reverse Possessing or looking into Twilight, non-Stigmata Rages cannot affect ghosts. This limitation does not hold true in the Underworld, where there is no such thing as Materialized/non-Materialized, or if the Sin-Eater is actually in Twilight (via Stigmata Shroud, for example).
xxxxxSomeone using Phantasmal Marionette with their Geist Body in Twilight still has their Human Body (from whence the Plasm originates) in the physical realm, and so cannot affect non-Materialized ghosts with non-Stigmata Rage, either.

xxxxxPerceiving the Rage: Keep in mind that Rage attacks are typically invisible except to the assailed and the assailant. Some Rages specify that the victim gets 'sucked into the earth', etc, so use common sense to determine what is visible and what isn't in this regard. As per Geist: The Sin-Eaters v1.1, p. 142: "Unless a Key specifically manifests the attack in the physical world, the Rage is generally invisible. The target can perceive its effects, as can certain supernatural creatures using powers such as a vampire's Aura Perception or a warlock's Mage Sight."

The Shroud

xxxxxThe Stillness Shroud: While this manifestation is active, the Sin Eater adds their dots in the Shroud Manifestation to all stealth related rolls as bonus dice. This includes rolls to activate and utilize other manifestations that require stealth.

xxxxxThe Stygian Shroud: This power will not redirect attacks back to the attacker – doing this requires both Shroud 4 and a successful touch attack – but will mystically divert the attack to the nearest target within 30'. If there are no suitable targets within this range, the attack hits as normal.

xxxxxThe Primeval Shroud: Primeval Shroud ••• grants the user plasmic talons that are a 1L damage bonus to Brawl attacks using said talons (making Strength+Brawl attacks Lethal; Aggravated if the victim is a ghost). These talons are solid enough to do damage, and thus they are solid enough to also add a +2 to any climbing rolls. It lasts for a scene. Primeval Shroud ••••• makes the talons do 1A to all targets and provide +3 to any climbing rolls.


xxxxxThis is not a house rule but a clarification: Any single action can only benefit from the use of a single memento; bonuses from multiple mementos cannot be stacked. This includes the bonus granted by a Keystone. (Paraphrased from p. 193)

xxxxxMemento bonuses to Manifestation uses apply to subsidiary powers of Manifestations as well.

xxxxxSome Mementos require a PrP to acquire or to get a discount for:
xxxxxxxxxx- Charms can be bought with no PrP; a good justification must accompany it, even if you have the Dedicate Charm Ceremony.
xxxxxxxxxx- Vanitas must be created IC; you can only have one. They do not require a PrP.
xxxxxxxxxx- Fetters can be bought at full-price, but require at least a one-scene PrP in which the Fetter is acquired. If a Fetter is created IC, there must be at least one scene in relation to that (i.e. the ghost agreeing, the ghost's other anchors being destroyed, the ceremony itself being performed) that is posted on the wiki; only then can the cost be halved.
xxxxxxxxxx- Deathmasks require a pre-approved PrP of at least two scenes.
xxxxxxxxxx- Memorabilia require a pre-approved PrP of at least three scenes.

xxxxxMementos can only be used by Sin-Eaters, unless a particular sphere has a way to mimic the expenditure of Plasm (Mages and Prime, for example).


xxxxxThese rules are subject to change as Staff reviews the transferability of Mementos.
xxxxxCharms •, Fetters ••• and Memorabilia ••••• contain certain 'Equipment' Traits that allow particular limited trading between individuals and Krewes, or are capable of being stolen/taken/borrowed. Obviously Charm tattoos can't be traded, but you can tattoo a Charm on another PC (for which they will pay the XP cost).
xxxxxVanitas •• may be destroyed and stolen.
xxxxxDeathmasks •••• may be 'found' or 'acquired' on a less-than-temporary basis, and may not be temporarily traded; however, they may be permanently traded. That means no take-backs once you give someone your Deathmask.


xxxxxFuel: The first dot of plasm spent to call the keystone gives the weapon or vehicle just enough to get started (a bullet, for instance, or a tank of gas). Investing another point of plasm will fill your clip/gas tank/quiver/bolt case/etc. When you run out of gas, pump another dot of plasm into it. If your six-shooter runs out of bullets, you spend another instant action and a point of plasm manifesting the bullets for it. When a keystone is used during reverse possession, it requires no refueling.

xxxxxState of Being: Unsummoned keystones typically exist either as part of your geist (and merged with you) or in Twilight at your side, where they can be seen by people who can see Twilight (you should determine this when writing your geist). When you enter the Underworld, keystones that don't manifest as part of your geist's body become physical.


xxxxxIt's notable that Vanitas are arguably the worst Mementos in Geist, and probably one of the worst type of magical item in the entire WoD line. While interesting from an RP perspective, they offer little mechanical benefit for the cost. As such, here are some house rules regarding Vanitas.
xxxxxA character can build Vanitas for free. It requires a Dexterity or Wits + Crafts roll, extended, with a 25 success threshold. Patient does add to your total rolls, as well as any other merits or specialties designed toward crafting. You cannot take Crafts (Vanitas), as death artwork is designed from a specific medium. However, if you have Crafts (Painting) and wanted to paint a portrait as a Vanitas, that would completely qualify.

  • Vanitas are now associated with a Key along with a Threshold. The reason for this is as such:
    • So long as you are within 10 yards of a Vanitas and call upon the usage of a Key, you receive a +2 benefit to the roll.
    • The Vanitas must be placed and have been placed in that location for at least 24 hours before the above benefit can be used.
    • This is largely useful when standing one's ground in defense of a Haunt, or other location that the Sin-Eater wishes to protect, since a Vanitas cannot be carried around for the benefit.

xxxxxVanitas triggers Mage Sense, as well as any Unseen Sense related to Mementos, as per usual. The benefit of Vanitas from the book (destruction to regain all Willpower, studying it to regain one Willpower with a meditation roll) are still available options for usage of these. Characters are still only allowed one Vanitas at any given time; however, a Krewe could have one Vanitas per member or founder of the Krewe. Anyone can create the Vanitas; the person who intends to use it will then dedicate it to themselves by spending a Plasm point (generally done in a job).


Switching Archetypes

xxxxxArchetypes can be changed. We do ask for some sort of log-tracking over the course of some time (a few logs that show what initiated the change--even if it's just conversation and realization--and some logs where the character acts differently than they usually would because of their aim to be a different Archetype). But we absolutely allow this. Archetypes are not mystically defined; they're just 'how you view your second life'. We also ask you not request this more than once unless something truly life-altering happens to your character and you have logs to prove it.


xxxxxAs with Demons in the Possessed sphere, a Geist which has once had a Bargain with one PC cannot make a Bargain with another PC. We could put window-dressing on why this ICly won't happen, but the fact is: it's simply too open to abuse and issues. We've decided we're not going to allow it. Sorry! xxxxxHowever, if you wish to play out a plot wherein your Geist leaves your character and you're Bound to a new Geist of your own design, that works as normal. Be sure to put this in as a request, and Staff (or a Tier) can take care of this for you. Making a new Bargain with a different Geist is definitely not something that's done lightly, and generally if it happens at all, it will only happen once. If this is done with your character, a +note will be placed on the bit to indicate that her former Geist has vacated and she has done another Bargain with a different Geist. Remember: this new Geist must be of your own design and must be approved first.'

XP Justifications

xxxxxThis isn't a rule, it's just a reminder: you can't get an XP reduction with justifications on Fallcoast. This applies to the Geist sphere as well. This includes, but is not limited to: being trained by another PC, writing out a lengthy description of what you're doing to learn the Trait or Supernatural Advantage, or pointing out that your character has been doing this for X amount of time and should receive a discount. The only exception to this is the above-listed rule regarding Ghostly Tutelage. You may attempt to get a PrP to train up an ability to mitigate some of the cost by gaining additional XP.

Prosthetic Limbs & the Underworld

xxxxxAs a prosthetic limb is considered 'part of you,' it is not affected by the Underworld's normal issues with reverting items to an older form. If your character has a prosthetic arm or leg, it won't suddenly disappear and leave you with a stump if you cross a River. The same can be said of anything that would allow you to see or hear, if you have purchased the Blind or Deaf flaw off by making use of advances in medical science.

Mythic Factors

xxxxxThis merit isn't really designed to work on a MUSH in general. As such, here are some clarifications that you can use when trying to figure out how these work in regards to a Krewe.

  • Mythic Factors can either be personal or Krewe-based. In order to use Mythic Factors, the Krewe member must have the merit at the appropriate rating.
  • Personal Mythic Factors are the 1-3 versions of the Merit. These are things that the Sin-Eater has to do herself in order to activate the ability. These take between one to five turns to do.
  • Krewe-based Mythic Factors are the 4 dot versions of the Merit. These are things that a Sin-Eater can create and store for her Krewe. Examples of this are certain works of art, statues, writing symbols depicting her Krewe's channel on cloth or silk with her blood, etc.
    • Mythic Factors 4 requires one day in preparation for one use of this merit. You can be store a number of Mythic Factors 4 objects or perform ceremonial rituals up to the Krewe's total Psyche (all members combined) x 3. Past that, the Factors are lost.
    • In order to use Mythic Factors 4, you must keep a tally within a job or comm. Job is preferable so staff can be aware of what the Krewe has for easy access, as this is a relatively fluid thing.
    • Mythic Factors 4 items or preparations can be shared between Krewemates assuming they have the Merit at that level.
  • Mythic Factors 5 is a personal thing, and always takes one turn. However, the requirements for using it are relatively steep. This would be destroying a Vanitas or higher Memento (with the appropriate Synergy loss), cutting off one's fingers or toes, or attempting to get an exceptional success at a mundane skill without the use of a Manifestation to aid her. For example, Julie attempts to sing a song and attempt to get an exceptional success in order to activate Mythic Factors 5. She rolls 4 successes and fails. She can attempt again next turn, but the Expression skill attempt uses her turn.
    • Mythic Factors 5 cannot be prepared in advance (you can't cut off multiple fingers and toes and other body parts in advance).
    • Mythic Factors 5 is also written poorly in the book. When you use Mythic Factors 5, you gain Rote from Mythic Factors 4, and get a +3 bonus on the Manifestation roll, recover 3 plasm, and regain a Willpower point, rather than gaining Rote, recovering 3 plasm, and a +2 on the Manifestation roll.
    • If you use Mythic Factors 5, you must open a job to inform staff of your destruction of a Memento, or the loss of a digit or appendage.
  • If learned from a Codex or joining a Krewe that has Mythic Factors, anyone can learn it, from Members to Founders, at whatever rating the Codex teaches, or to the level a Founder has.

PRP Pre-Approval

xxxxxGenerally, you don't need pre-approval for a PrP for anything, except for the following:

  • Getting a Memento from the Underworld (generally done in the Killing Fields for half cost)
  • Learning the Stygian Key
  • Learning the Pit manifestation
  • Using the Tutelage of the Dead rules
  • Anything involving the current main sphere plot that advances the plot (talking about it or doing some prep work doesn't count, but going off and investigating the Big Bad's friends and allies would, since you'd need the information anyway)
  • Becoming a servant of a Principality
  • Doing some weird shit with the Underworld, like opening up a new Dead Zone or creating a new Dominion not listed in BotD, Geist, or the wiki

Pre-approval can be done in a job, or you can just page staff and ask if it's cool. Generally speaking it doesn't have to be a drawn-out affair. If you're the Tier or just running PrPs for another sphere that is NOT Geist, you must get pre-approval on Sin-Eater NPCs that you want to run. So, if you're a Mage and you want all of your Mage buddies to fight some Sin-Eater mooks, you have to run it by Geist staff first to make sure that we're aware of said mooks who might have PC friends in-sphere. Geist Tiers or Geist players don't have to get pre-approval for their Sin-Eater NPCs.